|
Recommendations: 6
Has anyone come cross the Fellowship Ethical scam?
Someone called Harry from "GE" has been pursuing me to invest in a wonderful timber-related investment organisation (http://www.fellowshipethical.com/). "Fellowship has undergone a natural progression from Forest Farmers into a leading provider of managed timber investments to institutions, corporate investors and funds and was in 1995 re named Fellowship"
The great "situation" on offer is http://www.phoenixtreeproject.com/. "The Phoenix Tree Project offers clients a return of original investment plus profits guaranteed over the minimum 5 year term (renewable each term of up to 20 years). The sustainable timber plantation consists of Paulownia (a fast growing hardwood) and helps combat local poverty and global climate change. Sounds great, doesn't it? But it's a total scam.
Although Fellowship Ethical has apparently been on the go for about 10 years (or longer if you read the website), the domain was only registered in May of 2010 and a couple of days before the golden phoenix site was registered. Isn't a golden phoenix something to do with Harry Potter - or am I mixing it up with Willie Wonka's golden tickets?
When challenged that the whole thing was a boiler room scam, my wizard salesman "Harry" didn't deny it but said that these "businesses" "weren't anything to do with GE". Except that he'd spent a while lying to me about how great the situation was and how he'd got his dear old father into it before and made a bit of money for him.
These people make me sick. Always remember to check the domain registration details of any website punted as an amazing, no risk, guaranteed 17% return opportunity.
|
|
|
Announcements
|