No. of Recommendations: 0
Hi, I am new to Fool, and brand spanking new to this board. I was posting on another board, and I read "I can't be asked to comment on...".

I (accidentally) mentioned that I was certain it should be 'can't be arsed'. Can anyone verify? And/or explain the meaning behind the phrase?
Print the post Back To Top
No. of Recommendations: 1
Hi marge2005

'I can't be arsed' is the usual expression. It appears to be relatively recent. When I was a young person in Ireland the expression there was 'I wouldn't bother me arse', which meant that you felt it was too much trouble to rise from a seated position to attend to the matter. Probably the current expression develops from some such idea. It is odd, though, because as far as I am aware, there are no other expressions where 'arse' is used as a verb in this sense. 'Arsing about' is a completely different matter.

S.
So, are some people saying "I can't be asked" (in a rich southern brogue) as a mis-hearing of "I can't be arsed"? I do hope so, what a lovely bit of lexical change.

McDodo

JinxM:
Posted on 26/05/2005 18:13:04
"Can't be arsed" is great - I use it a lot. My brother's German girlfriend also used it - but a meeting with her bosses. She thought it was "can't be asked"

from
http://www.jinxm.co.uk/index.asp?a=424&c=1&o=1

and some boring pedants seem to be posting out there, where I find:

Can't be asked to logon

http://www.thefridayproject.co.uk/talk/showthread.php?t=1406&page=1

and

For those who are lazy or just can't be asked, ...
from

http://www.ozzu.com/ftopic23540.html
Ohh! a new eggcorn spotted.

http://eggcorns.lascribe.net/

I think I will mention this on The Word is Your Oyster.

http://boards.fool.co.uk/Messages.asp?mid=9399544&bid=51472

Simon