UnThreaded | Threaded | Whole Thread (26) | Ignore Thread Prev Thread | Next Thread
Author: jona123 One star, 50 posts Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: of 51863  
Subject: A quick view of the FTSE100 banks Date: 16/06/2011 21:30
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll . Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 17
Hello,

I'm new to investigating potential value shares so was keen to make a start. I now subscribe to SharelockHolmes (great resource and possible to create some illuminating filters) and did a little digging into the Banks and some filters on the FTSE100 (please do check any figures yourselves in case of errors at source). 

Given the recent value portfolio buy here are some figures you may find interesting:

EPIC	Share_Name	                PBV	PTBV	PER	PER_Projected	PER_Projected2	Yield	Yield_Projected	Yield_Projected2	Div_Cover
BARC	BARCLAYS	                0.6	0.7	8.8	8.8	        6.3	        2.3	2.3	        2.6	                5.0
HSBA	HSBC HOLDINGS 	                1.1	1.4	11.9	11.0	        9.0	        3.9	4.2	        4.9	                2.1
LLOY	LLOYDS BANKING	                0.7	1.0	22.0	26.1	        7.5	        1.5	3.0	        4.5	                3.0
RBS	ROYAL BANK OF SCOTLAND GROUP	0.3	0.4	47.5	21.1	        8.8	        0.0	0.0	        2.5	 
STAN	STANDARD CHARTERED	        1.6	1.9	12.7	12.5	        11.0	        2.9	3.1	        3.5	                2.7

Some observations:

PBV: RBS the lowest by far in this group, half that of the next lowest, with Barclays then Lloyds. Looking separately RBS has the lowest PBV of the whole FTSE100, with Barclays 2nd and Lloyds 5th.

PTBV: again RBS the lowest by far in this group, with Barclays then Lloyds. Looking separately RBS has the lowest PTBV of the whole FTSE100, with Barclays 2nd and Lloyds 7th.