Helpful Fools / Help with this Blasted Computer! Add This Board To Your Favourites
Message Font: Serif | Sans-Serif
UnThreaded | Threaded | Whole Thread (10) | Ignore Thread Prev Thread | Next Thread
Author: WessexMario Big gold star, 5000 posts Add to my Favourite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore)
Number: of 168077
Subject: Warning - buygreendot.com Date: 18/10/09 18:47
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 40
http://www.buygreendot.com

This is a new technology shopping site offering items at a discount.
I was nearly tempted, but the prices seemed just too low to be true so little alarm bells rang and I checked them out.

The site was only registered a few weeks ago, and is registered to an anomnymous USA proxy. It's supposed to be a UK company established in 2005 but doesn't appear on Companies House, the only two companies with similar names are non-trading and dormant. It doesn't appear on Google, and the few references to the site there are on forums suggests it's a scam to get your details for identity fraud.

http://forums.moneysavingexpert.com/showthread.html?p=260654...
http://www.ephotozine.com/topic/t-76586
http://whois.domaintools.com/buygreendot.com

Be careful out there.
WM

Print the post   Back To Top
Author: Tri2000 Big red star, 1000 posts Add to my Favourite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: 163124 of 168077
Subject: Re: Warning - buygreendot.com Date: 19/10/09 11:25
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 1
WM, I originally recced your post as a scam should get enough Foolish attention to make it to BoB, but then looked into things a little closer. While I accept that some of the forum users may be rightly suspicious, you say the company does not exist at Companies House. In the web site T&C, it says:

2.6"BuyGreenDot" is a trading name of Intec Microsystems Ltd or any such other company as Intec Microsystems Ltd may appoint as sub-contractor to provide the Services to the Customer;

Intec Microsystems Ltd is registered (co. # 04933374) in 2003. The second bit of that line above may be dodgy though, "any such other company" could indicate a drop-shipping type service which may not be what customers expect.

I am not attempting to defend the company (I had never heard of them before your post), and would probably not use their services myself as a deal too good to be true often is, but they may possibly deserve a chance?

Pat

Print the post   Back To Top
Author: F150Harley Two stars, 250 posts Add to my Favourite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: 163129 of 168077
Subject: Re: Warning - buygreendot.com Date: 19/10/09 11:51
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 4
Hi there,

I've just looked on the site and I do see a Geographical address and a Geographical '01' telephone number. Are online fraudsters nowadays SO confident to operate from geographical premises?


Unit 2, Bourne Ind Pk, Bourne Rd, Crayford,
Dartford
Kent
DA1 4BZ
United Kingdom

On google maps, there is a Bourne road showing up, and on aerial view, it certainly looks like a Business park. There's also a telephone number - 01322 551433.

So my point as above, is if this as reported on TMF and on Money saving Expert and other sites, is currently being vocally/typed as being fraudulent with those address and telephone numbers, what distinguishes it from other small businesses? has ANYONE actually placed an order with them and not recieved goods? has ANYONE actually visited the premises?

I'd be very careful, if the company is, at it appears legitimate - I think they have a case for libel ?

Cheers, Mr F150 Harley!

Print the post   Back To Top
Author: WessexMario Big gold star, 5000 posts Add to my Favourite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: 163135 of 168077
Subject: Re: Warning - buygreendot.com Date: 19/10/09 12:41
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 0
2.6 "BuyGreenDot" is a trading name of Intec Microsystems Ltd or any such other company as Intec Microsystems Ltd may appoint as sub-contractor to provide the Services to the Customer;

I've emailed Intec Microsystems to ask for confirmation if BuyGreenDot are related to them.
I'll post when I get a reply.
WM

Print the post   Back To Top
Author: WessexMario Big gold star, 5000 posts Add to my Favourite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: 163163 of 168077
Subject: Re: Warning - buygreendot.com Date: 19/10/09 20:13
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 27
Hi all,
I've received the following email from Intecmicrosystems:-

Dear Mario,
Thank you for double checking this - they are nothing at all to do with
Intec Microsystems Ltd and we are in the process of stopping them from
advertising this on a web site and via google.

We believe they are a totally fraudulent company who have no intentions
what so ever of supplying any buyer with any goods.

Andy xxxxxxx
Sales Director
Intec Micros Ltd


Print the post   Back To Top
Author: Triassic Three stars, 500 posts Add to my Favourite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: 163188 of 168077
Subject: Re: Warning - buygreendot.com Date: 20/10/09 12:39
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 3
Warning from Trading Standards - bogus website http://www.bexley.gov.uk/index.aspx?articleid=7530

Bexley Trading Standards Team is warning residents about a bogus website allegedly located in Crayford that offers low-priced electrical equipment and accessories.

www.buygreendot.com claims to be based in Bourne Road Crayford but the address is false and the telephone number given is in fact a local private residence.

The appropriate authorities have been alerted but, in the meantime, Trading Standards' advice is not to place any orders on the website and don't give your credit or debit card details.

If you have already paid for goods, you should report the matter to Consumer Direct - the government telephone and online advice service - at http://www.consumerdirect.gov.uk/contact?action=complain.or by telephoning 08454 04 05 06. If you paid by credit or debit card, you should notify the card issuer as soon as possible.

The information gathered by Consumer Direct will be treated in confidence but will help with subsequent investigations by Trading Standards and other enforcement agencies.

Print the post   Back To Top
Author: neviboss Add to my Favourite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: 163468 of 168077
Subject: Re: Warning - buygreendot.com Date: 26/10/09 15:25
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 3
There you go,done!


Dear ********
Thank you for your email regarding the above website. I have been in contact with the registrar of the site in America and they will be suspending the site.
Kind regards
Julie Powell
Senior Fair Trading Officer
Bexley Council
Environment and Regeneration Services
2A Hadlow Road
Sidcup, Kent, DA14 4AF
Tel: 020 8308 7610
Fax: 020 8308 1300
www.bexley.gov.uk

Print the post   Back To Top
Author: supremetwo Big gold star, 5000 posts Add to my Favourite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: 163489 of 168077
Subject: Re: Warning - buygreendot.com Date: 27/10/09 00:25
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 0
The site must have cost a considerable amount to set up.

Be careful out there.

Obviously, the credit card people are not being careful enough in issuing them with a merchant account. Their fraud departments appear to lack the detective ability shown here on TMF.

Print the post   Back To Top
Author: 1xion Big gold star, 5000 posts Add to my Favourite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: 163497 of 168077
Subject: Re: Warning - buygreendot.com Date: 27/10/09 09:48
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 0
The site must have cost a considerable amount to set up.

You might be surprised; I've not seen the site in question but there are tools out there which allow very slick looking shopping sites to be created quickly, easily and cheaply. Great if you're a small business getting started but of course also great if you're a fraudster.


Obviously, the credit card people are not being careful enough in issuing them with a merchant account.


They may well not have had a merchant account. There are plenty of third-party payment providers who will do card handling on your behalf; again a boon to the small business wanting a quick route online with low up-front cost, but also to the criminal element.

Print the post   Back To Top
Author: supremetwo Big gold star, 5000 posts Add to my Favourite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: 163498 of 168077
Subject: Re: Warning - buygreendot.com Date: 27/10/09 10:11
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 0
They may well not have had a merchant account.

Probable.

The Trading Standards link suggests that no attempt was made to withdraw funds directly for goods purchase and that this was ID theft or credit card clone.

Print the post   Back To Top
UnThreaded | Threaded | Whole Thread (10) | Ignore Thread Prev Thread | Next Thread
Share Folders: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z